recipes

Taste Test Thursday

At the beginning of the month, I decided to make a new years resolution. Now this is not your typical resolution. Most people vow to work out or eat healthier. Not me. I decided to challenge myself to make a new recipe/meal every night for the entire month of January. I have to give Cole some credit on this one. We were talking about dinners and he was getting on me about having lots and lots of cookbooks and never making anything out of them (This is something else I get from my mother. We collect cookbooks ! Crazy must run in the family !) After our talk, I decided to take the challenge and make 23 different meals (not counting the weekends) !

For one my first meals, I wanted to make Chinese Food. I like ordering Chinese food but figured I could make something similar on my own. So here it is General Tso’s chicken and fried rice. The recipes I looked at were pretty easy to make and I adapted them a little for my taste. For those of you that like Chinese, give this a try ! It was yummy !

General Tso’s Chicken

2 lbs chicken breast, chopped into pcs

3/4 sugar

1/2 cup white vinegar

1/4 cup ketchup

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 clove of garlic pressed

4 TBSP brown sugar

 

1.) Chop chicken into bite size pieces and fry in pan until cooked and light golden brown.

2.) To make sauce, whisk together remaining ingredients. Pour over cooked chicken in skillet.

3.) Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

 

Fried Rice

3 cups instant rice, cooked

1 small onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic pressed

2 eggs, lightly scrambled

4 TBSP soy sauce

 

1.) Prepare rice according to directions ( I used brown rice)

2.) Fry onion and garlic in skillet until cooked.

3.) Add in eggs, scrambled and stir with onions/garlic.

4.) Add rice, fry for several minutes.

5.) Stir in soy sauce, mix well.

meal-2-a

My taste testers said that it was “delicious” and they wished I made more ! Taste Test Thursday was a success and I will definitely be making these recipes again !

meal-3

Leave a Reply

